Dr. Christian
Rowan MP

Member for Moggill


Moggill is an electorate district of the Queensland State Parliament.

Principal areas in the electorate include: England Creek, Banks Creek, Borallon, Upper Brookfield, Kholo, Pullenvale, Brookfield, Karana Downs, Mt Crosby, Anstead, Bellbowrie, Moggill, Kenmore, Chapel Hill and Kenmore Hills.

The traditional inhabitants of the area include the Jagar people (Yugarubul language) and the Turrbal people (Turrbal language).

The origin of the name of Moggill may be from the indigenous word ‘magil’ meaning water lizard.

The area was explored by John Oxley when he sailed up the Brisbane River in 1823 and John Petrie discovered coal in the Moggill area in 1838.  Early pastoralists settled in the region and timber getters harvested red cedar from Pullenvale.

One of the earliest settlers was Thomas Prior who later became Queensland’s first Post-Master General.

In 1923, siblings James and Mary Mayne gave the University of Queensland nearly 700 acres of land at Moggill Creek for an agricultural college. The Moggill electorate was established in the 1986 redistribution, with parts of the Mount Coot-tha electorate and Ipswich West electorate amalgamated.

Download the Moggill state electorate map [PDF 6.22MB] >

Electorate Office Address
Suites 16 & 17, Level 1,
Kenmore Village,
9 Brookfield Road, KENMORE QLD

Phone: (07) 3737 4110
Fax: (07) 3737 4119

Authorised by Dr. Christian Rowan MP, Level 1, Kenmore Village, 9 Brookfield Road, Kenmore QLD | Login | Website Design by Datasearch